Lawmakers in Indiana are proposing a new law that would make it a crime to smoke in a car with a child under six years old. Anybody caught violating the law would be subject to a fine of $1,000, and if they are caught three times in a 12-month period the fine would jump to $10,000.
"We know that second-hand smoke is a killer and I wanted to follow through on it, it's just I felt really, really bad for those kids," Senator Jim Merritt told WTWO.
If the proposed bill is signed by Indiana Governor Eric Holcomb, it would take effect in July.
Currently, eight other states have similar laws which punish people who smoke in a car with children.
Photo: Getty Images